The Pursuit of Happyness

Book Cover - The Pursuit of Happyness by Chris Gardner

Yes, this is the title of the movie where Will Smith starred as Chris Gardner, a single father for a toddler who wanted to change his life. Using the words of ciedo (a blogger I found from bloghopping), Chris rolled back and forth on the earth just to pursue happyness (hence the title of his book).

I found the book in Aksara, during one of my drunk-on-books time at Citos. (I can spend hours in that bookstore just strolling from one book to another).

Chris wrote these interesting words (on page 6 of the book), which have been said many times by many different people, but still ring very true in essence:

“As long as I kept my mental focus on destinations that were ahead, destinations that I had the audacity to dream might hold a red Ferrari of my own, I protected myself from despair. The future was uncertain, absolutely, and there were many hurdles, twists, and turns to come, but as long as I kept moving forward, one foot in front of the other, the voices of fear and shame, the messages from those who wanted me to believe that I wasn’t good enough, would be stilled.

Go forward. That became my mantra.”

3 Responses to “The Pursuit of Happyness”

  1. astrid Says:

    “Go forward. That became my mantra”.

    What an encouraging quote!
    You know what they always said, they need an angel to move them on, and that we’re lucky enough to born like this. Screw that! They just don’t see that every human has the power to get somewhere – a place they really want. Even worse, they don’t know what they want and just be afraid to lose.

    What’s the meaning of losing anyway? We all born with duties which could make us completely successful in our own ways, even though when it seems that we lose, well we’re not! Somehow someone needs to knock their heads off so they can realize they have their own luck, too. Living for once in this wide amazing world, having lifes to live, who could ask for more?

    There’s only one thing I’m afraid of:
    Leaving this great world and life without me ever doing nothing in it. Sigh.

    I’m glad to know U as one of a million person in this world who doesn’t afraid to ‘roll back and forth on the earth’. May you enjoy your happiness in ur life dear🙂

  2. sesy Says:

    wah dari pertama nonton reviewnya di showbizz dah pengen banget nonton film ini tapi belum kesampean. btw, salam kenal ya om.

  3. angel Says:

    inspiring! saya menonton film will smith itu pada saat saya mengalami saat saat yang sangat sulit (baca: sedang sakit cacar, sendirian, berada di tanah perantauan untuk bekerja).
    it is hard to believe that human beings are able to go through every storm and see the sun rise, namun itu memang terjadi. selama kita masih memiliki harapan akan sesuatu yang lebih baik walau keadaan sangat buruk, saat itulah kita benar benar menjadi manusia yang kuat dan dapat melakukan apa saja yang kita inginkan.

    tetap semangat!!


Leave a Reply

